mall madness

8 January 2010 at 2:12 pm 4 comments

During all the hustle of Christmas shopping, I happened to get snagged by one of the Israeli cosmetic counter salespeople. These small island kiosks are found in malls all over the western United States and they feature overpriced bath salts, facial creams and skin treatments along youthful sales personnel that all hail from Israel and the dead sea.

So, I was stuck listening while this young, attractive foreigner tried to to sell me a product he would get commission on. I don’t know if something was lost in translation, but the conversation went a little like this:

Him: So, how old are you?
Me: uhm…. how do old you think I am?
Him: 28…
(headshake from me)
Him: 25?…
(headshake from me)
Him: 23?…
(headshake from me)
Him: 21?!…
(headshake from me)
Him: You are younger than 21?!
Me: Nope.
Him: So, how old are you?
Me: I’m 30.
Him: 30? No! You do not look that old. Your skin looks very good for your age.
Me: Thank-you.
Him: I am surprised you are that many years. You must drink a lot of water and keep yourself very healthy.
Me: Thanks. I try.
Him: You probably have a very young boyfriend.
Me: eh…? well, I don’t really have a boyfriend.
Him: This I cannot believe! You look so young and pretty.
Me: (blushing) Thank-you.
Him: (pause) So, have you ever thought about the… eh… the wrinkles? We have a cream that will get rid of them right away!

Can’t have it both ways, son!

Needless to say, I didn’t purchase anything.

Entry filed under: word of the week. Tags: , , , , , .

free car shopping categorization

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rebekah  |  8 January 2010 at 2:40 pm

    Ha! He needs refine his approach if he wants to stay in sales, but you DO look great.

  • 2. cassandra lockwood  |  8 January 2010 at 3:31 pm

    nice story. šŸ™‚

  • 3. Marja  |  8 January 2010 at 3:53 pm

    Sucker! When they even look at my way, I first give them the stink eye, then if they don’t understand what I mean by it, then I put my “STOP” hand up and before they even ask their “can I ask you a question” I say “NO”. and keep on walking. Works every time. Or ignoring them also works. Or start speaking Finnish also works. Who cares if they think I’m rude. Americans are just way too nice.

  • 4. hazelnutmegan  |  14 January 2010 at 2:02 pm

    Rebekah: Wholly agree & Thank-you.

    Marja: Wish I could speak Finnish! I usually do try to ignore them, but I wasn’t focused enough on this particular occasion and so the flow of foot traffic led me right to him! But, thanks for the tips!

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


fresh & new...

in the past…

need a date?

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

