hairglut

13 February 2009 at 1:45 pm 2 comments

Last night I went to the store. I knew my paycheck was in the bank and I could finally go shopping for all the little things that I’d put off getting for two weeks, so that my bills would get paid…. things like vitamin C, pantyhose, cherry cordial kisses, etc.

It was in the middle of the night, as I wandered the store bleary-eyed and ready for bed that I fell victim to hairglut. Hairglut is a close relative to cosmeticglut, CDglut, and clothesglut. It is also vaguely related to the other gluts found within male members of the species such as electronicsglut, gadgetglut, and powertoolsglut.

Here is what I had intended to buy for my hair:

nice, simple, inexpensive...

nice, simple, inexpensive...

Here is what I finally purchased: 

fantastic, extravagant, definately expensive!

fantastic, extravagant, definitely expensive!

How did it start? How does any case of glut start? It starts when you think something in your life is wrong. It may not actually be wrong, but if you think it is, then you have to fix it. My hair needed a fix. I hadn’t gotten a haircut in several months, and I wouldn’t be able to get one until after the play ends in April. So my sensible “think-before-you-act” self determined that all I needed was a really good brush to help give my hair the loving care it needed.

But, when I got to the store I was baraged by lovely packages with the words “specifically designed for thin hair” written all over them. A few years ago, hair products weren’t so specific, but there are now thousands upon thousands of marketing gurus being paid mega-bucks to research what makes a customer like me tick. Apparently the words: Makes thin hair come to life! is a big seller, because now its on everything.

My thoughts ran something like this:
Oh, my poor thin hair… it needs help… its been trying so hard everyday… and I keep blowdrying it… I really need to get something better… something that will help my poor thin hair to look better than it can look on its own… something specifically designed for thin hair… oh! look here is some shampoo, and conditioner, and styling moisturizer… ooooh! and even a special blowdryer!  (which I must say is pretty impressive.)

So my cart was filled and in my glutted state I made my way to the cash register where I forked over my hard-earned cash for hair care products. And like any good case of glut I didn’t purchase one of the few things I actually needed to get for my silly head — a bike helmet.

Entry filed under: word of the week.

it’s february and i’m in love. post-adolescent

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marja  |  17 February 2009 at 11:25 am

    Marja: Root Boost, baby. I’m in the same boat with you. Try Root Boost. I swear by it, and I’ve been using it for 10 years already.

    Megan: Thanks for the tip, Marja!

  • 2. Sam Gifford  |  25 February 2009 at 10:56 pm

    Sam: Hey you better get a brain bucket or you may not have to worry about your thin hair, because it splattered all over the wonderful black pavement. Just lookin out for you nutmeg. You know me megan I don’t mince words but I mean well.

    Megan: I don’t plan on riding the bike without a helmet, this just means it make be a little bit longer before I’m out riding the bike.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


fresh & new...

in the past…

need a date?

February 2009
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

