it’s february and i’m in love.

9 February 2009 at 11:41 am 2 comments

“Well, we just fell in love, you know. I’d never thought about marrying anybody before … never met anybody I’d consider spending my life with.”
                                                            ~Katherine from Quilters, Act II

I’m in love. Maybe not like Katherine (above), but in love nonetheless, and it is a love that could’ve only come at this time of year — when the stores are decked out in red, pink and roses, and when there are aisles and aisles of chocolate-stuffed, heart-shaped packages everywhere you look.

Last week, I went shopping while I was both stressed and hungry.

I couldn’t bring myself to buy a $20.00 set of chocolates, but the $2.50 Valentine’s bags of Reesecherrykisses‘s, Snickers, and Hershey’s were calling to me. Then I saw them. Peeking out through the cheesecake and strawberry creme kisses were the dark and sultry cherry cordial kisses. It was kismet… fate… or maybe destiny even.

So, I bought several bags and took them home.  The first bite was messy as ooey-gooey cherry filling fell down my lips, but it was rapturous.

Now I hold the kiss upside-down and bite the bottom off first. The kiss then forms a chocolate chalice… a goblet that holds the cherry cordial neatly while I plunder its contents to my heart’s content.

It’s not good for my waist,
Not good for my wallet,
And I know it won’t last, 
But its oh, so delicious!

Entry filed under: autobiographical. Tags: , , , , , .

hello, world! hairglut

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marja  |  10 February 2009 at 12:06 pm

    Chocolate love will never fail or disappoint you so you are lucky there. Cherry Cordials are Rod’s favorite, too. That reminds me, I need to get a few from a store at the mall for his Valentine’s Day.

    megan: I didn’t realize how popular they were until I went to look for them last night, and ALL the stores I went to: Wal-Mart, Walgreens and the other Walgreens were ALL SOLD OUT!

  • 2. snailmeister  |  13 February 2009 at 11:59 am

    Ah, young love!

    megan:do you still think I’m young?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


fresh & new...

in the past…

need a date?

February 2009
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

